Zum Inhalt springen

Ayurvedic nutrition A diet that suits anyone

In Ayurveda, we follow the laws of nature. Nature’s laws shape the Ayurvedic diet and lifestyle. They are universally valid and help us to remain in good health and shape.

The three Doshas

According to Vedic philosophy, everything in nature is composed of the properties of the five elements – ether, air, fire, water and earth. Depending on the composition of the latter, the three attribute models of «Vata», «Pitta» and «Kapha» are created. Each individual can be assigned to one of the Ayurvedic doshas or to a combination of them.



Vata represents the principle of movement. This constitutional type is formed by the elements ether and air. It is by nature light, cool and mobile. Typical characteristics of the Vata constitution are subtlety and strong powers of imagination. Vata types need food with oily, warming properties. Sweet, salty and spicy are the preferred types of flavour for Vata types.



Pitta represents the principle of transformation. This dosha is characterised by heat and moistness. The dominant elements are fire and a small amount of water. Pitta constitutions are ambitious, resolute and fearless. Due to their natural properties, Pitta types should mainly consume foods with cooling and drying properties. Here one should concentrate especially on sweet, bitter and tart flavours.



The structural principle is symbolised by the Kapha dosha. The predominant elements in the Kapha dosha are water and earth. The characteristics of the Kapha constitution are coolness, gentleness and stability. Its additional characteristics include power, tolerance and dependability. People with this type of constitution prefer eating food with light, dry and warming properties. A bitter, spicy and tart taste should be present in every dish.

The individual aspects of these principles are given to us from birth. They make up our basic constitution and accompany us throughout our lives. Together we will find your constitution and will adjust your diet accordingly. This will lead to increased mental clarity and physical strength.

Subscribe to TOMJACKS nutrition counselling now

This is how the Ayurvedic diet works

Meals that are cooked according to Ayurvedic principles offer variety, can be digested well and taste delicious. A comprehensive Ayurvedic menu contains six tastes. This ensures that the body is supplied with all necessary nutrients.

In addition to one’s own constitution, while preparing the food one also takes into account the time of day, the seasons and other environmental factors. The concept can be applied to each cuisine or type of diet.

Once adapted and internalised, this diet quickly improves your health and quality of life.

Ayurvedic knowledge is based on Vedic writings, especially those in the Charaka Samhita. However, Vedic science should not be equated with the present-day definition of science. The knowledge contained in it did not originate from theories, lengthy studies or research. Freed from human imperfection, this knowledge was revealed to us by a higher entity. It is therefore pure and unadulterated, and holds true for all eternity.

That (science) is designated as Ayurveda where advantageous and disadvantageous as well as happy and unhappy (states of) life along with what is good and bad for life, its measurement and life itself are described.Caraka Saṃhitā, Sū. I. 41

Recipes Eating healthy

My favourite meal in summer time (Tridosha – for all types) tastes incredibly good and you can prepare it in a jiffy.

I will keep you updated with my newsletter.